Grand Prix 2011

As has been usual over the past few years, the last race of the season's Grand Prix was the Brampton to Carlisle 10 mile Road Race. With the winners of each division having virtually been decided beforehand the race was on for the minor placings.


In Division One, Robbie was again the winner, and in the process, equalling Andy Browns record of six Division One titles. In his first year of racing in the Grand Prix, Sam Dodd was a close second and will surely run Robbie close in next year's event. Third place went to Graeme Stewart.

In Division Two Chris Stone and Heather Christopher both still had a chance at the title, with Chris needing no worse than fifth place to guarantee being the winner, assuming Heather won at Brampton. Unfortunately however Heather was ill and not able to race giving Chris an easy day out. So Chris was the Division Two winner, with Heather second and Shaun Dodd third.

The top of Division Three was the closest finish out of all the divisions with Susanne Hunter beating Steve Dobby by 3 points. Susanne won five and was second in the other of her six counting races, hence only dropping one point from the maximum possible. Third place went to Ron Ingram, just one point in front of Cath Young.

Division Four was won comfortably by last year's division five winner Phillippa Baxter who, like Susie, also had five wins and one second in her six counting races. Second place went to Claire Riches, a one place improvement over last year, and third place was taken by Davina Lonsdale.


Finally, a few facts and figures for the anoraks amongst us:-

    Six people competed in all nine races, Sam Dodd, Peter Holmback, Ron Ingram, Heather Barrass, Davina Lonsdale and Phillippa Baxter.

    Most popular race - the Northumberland half

    Least popular race - Brampton to Carlisle 10M

    Division with best turnout to races - division 3 with 72.8%

    Division with worst turnout - division 4 with 54.5%

    Overall turnout to races - 52.1%, an increase of 8% over last year

    Robbie has now won division 1 six times, equal with Andy Brown


For all the results from the 2011 Grand Prix click here and for the Final Grand Prix tables click here.