Links 10k 2011

[Thu 1st Sep 2011] 


1987 saw the first Blyth-Blaydon-Claremont social night, a race around the Town Moor followed by a social night.  In 1988, Blyth returned the favour and organised the Blyth Links 10K, although other Clubs were also invited.  Since then the event has grown, with several clubs incorporating the race in their Grand Prix.  The basic route and format has stayed the same, although the venue for the after race drinks has changed several times,  we seem settled at the Quay pub now.  The race has always been on the Tuesday evening after the August Bank Holiday Monday.  This year’s race saw over 270 finishers which was a record.  The actual outcome of the race was probably not in doubt after the first 200 yards as Iain Harding of Morpeth and Iain Twaddle of North Shields Poly soon pulled away from the main group.  By the half way mark Iain Harding had a considerable lead over Iain Twaddle and went on to win by over 90 seconds with a time of 32:25, while Iain Twaddle was second in 33:59, in front of the third place runner, Ian Robinson of Heaton with 34:46.  The winner and runner up both occupied the same positions in the previous year's race.  Robbie Barkley was the first Blyth runner home in 12th position with a time of 37:49, Leanne Herron was the first lady home in 46th position with a time of 40:29, just 10 seconds short of the fastest time by a Blyth Lady.  Andy Brown holds the fastest time by a Blyth man with 32:46.   

There is only one trophy presented and this is the “Brian Stringfellow” trophy which is presented to the first Blyth veteran runner home and this was won by Dale Smith.

Fastest times recorded are Ivan Hollingsworth (Morpeth), 31:50 in 2007 and for the ladies, Stephanie Dann of NSP with 37:47.