Gordon Smith Memorial Relays 2015

[Sun 31st May] 


The Gordon Smith Memorial Relays (hosted by Wallsend Harriers) was held on the 13th May at Segedunum, Wallsend.  The 2 mile 2 lap course along Hadrian's Way cycle path was slightly changed this year due to road works near the original start area.  Starting on a hill and including a fast downhill section leading to a sharp ascent up Davy Bank proved to be a testing course.

However, the perfect conditions and great support were the essence for a great night of relay running.  Blyth had 7 teams competing- each team had to include at least 1 veteran.

The fastest Blyth male runner on the night was Jake Jansen: 11.43  and the fastest female was Leanne Herron: 14.22

Tynebridge took the honours of the winning team with Jarrow and Hebburn for the ladies.

This popular midweek event reached a record turnout of 144 teams.


Blyth Results:


21st Team                                 79th Team

Sam Dodd-11.53                        Mark Nicholson- 13.52

Steven French-13.12                   Dave Roberts-14.35

Jake Jansen-11.43                     Steve Gillespie-14.54


34th Team                                 104th Team

Jon French- 11.55                      Ralph Dickinson- 16.13

Martin Scott -13.26                     Dave Bradley-14.44

Calum Storey-13.20                    Ryan Shiel- 15.12


105th Team

Sue Browning-15.36                   Incomplete Team

Leanne Herron- 14.22                Claire Mason-16.49

Helen Morris- 16.13                    Leanne Davies-17.56


107th Team

Rachelle Falloon-15.10

Phillippa Moore-15.50

Claire Calverley-15.20


Full results: www.wallsendharriers.com